PERSONAL & DOCUMENT REQUIREMENTS TO ATTEND CLASSES:
PRIOR EDUCATION REQUIRED TO TAKE THE COURSE:
RESIDENCY TO BE A LICENSED NAIL TECH IN VA:
SUPPLIES NEEDED TO TAKE THE COURSE:
PAYMENT PLAN OPTION:
Be cautious of scammers that can't help those wanting a nail license.
ONLINE TRAINING: If you see 100% online training for salon services or salon business then it is not going to help you get a nail license needed to sell nail services in Virginia. There are some scammers creating an all online study course to make quick money but they usually don't tell you that it is just training that does not lead to licensing hours. Virginia requires some training and testing done INSIDE a state licensed school to get a nail license.
ONE DAY TRAINING: If you see a single day or weekend training then it is designed for already licensed techs or just
training at home to do nails NOT for sale. Some Techs will teach a one day course to make some extra cash but if it is not done inside a state licensed school by a state licensed instructor then the
hours mean nothing towards licensing. Most Techs don't want to help others become their competition, they just want to make some quick money!
SALON APPRENTICE:If you are training as an apprentice in a salon you do not have to pay a salon to learn, they are suppose to pay you to be an apprentice (minimum wage or more as a W-2 employee and not a 1099 contractor). You are only suppose to pay for tools/supply, uniform or books. One licensed nail tech (in a state registered apprenticeship salon) can train one apprentice for 1 year with a minimum of 2,000 hours or more. Additional apprentices require additional licensed techs. Real registered apprentices will be given a apprentice license (that must be posted) by a state representative visitng the salon to check the DMV ID/Soc. Security card of the apprentice to earn their credit hours. We get so many students that have been scammed by this opportunity from employers that used them for grunt work and avoiding the possiblity that a training could become potentional competition.
In order to sell ANY nail services (including those in training) in Virginia you must have a posted Nail license given to you from the state regulatory board. Licenses are obtained after passing a state licensed course and the state exams administered inside a secured testing center. Single day or 100% all online training is not approved to sit for these state exams to get licensed. Be cautious of scammers out there! Unlicensed service providers can not be insured for liability and can be sued by customers. Violations will cause issues with obtaining any type of State regulated Career License later in life.
Any person practicing barbering, cosmetology (hair care), nail care, or waxing services for sale without a
posting license may be prosecuted and fined by the Commonwealth under §§ 54.1-111 A 1 and 54.1-202 of the Code of Display of license. A state issued posted license is required at all times
for anyone selling nail care services (this includes learning apprentices posting their DOLI issued temporary permit). Call (804) 367-8504 or email ComplaintAnalysis@dpor.virginia.gov to get help with filing a complaint about a
unsafe salon or not seeing posted DPOR issued licenses for each staff selling nail care and an additional DPOR issued license for the salon.
Nail Techs are trained and tested by the state to recognize skin issues for referral to a licensed Doctor or Podiatrist. Any Tech diagnosing, prescribing or providing "cure" medical treatment can be prosecuted including lawsuits by clients. All beauty professional are NOT allowed to cut any living tissue (or skin) off the fingers, toes or feet without an additional license from the Board of Medicine to avoid potential lawsuits from clients and a reportable violation under §§ 54.1-2400.01